“Dad, I’m going to travel the world!”

I remember a conversation I had with my dad many years ago. I think I was ten. I also think he knew his days were numbered, so perhaps that’s why he had this conversation with me.

I was having the “what do you want to be when you grow up” conversation. Of course, I’m the one that initiated the soon to be deep conversation. And let me tell you, I talked ALL the time. I think I was a little annoying growing up – to be quite honest with you. 😉

Anyway, I was telling him about all of the things I wanted to be. I wanted to be a professional basketball player, a professional golfer, a professional swimmer, a doctor, a lawyer, an astronaut… and a world traveler.

He, of course, always led me to believe that I could be all of those. But I think in the back of his mind he knew that I was also a first-class dreamer! But he did start talking to me about traveling the world.

This is what I remember…

He told me about his travels. He didn’t get the chance to travel much and I remember him telling me that if I get the chance, go for it. I may only have one shot. And then that conversation led into, “well, where do you want to go”.

Of course, I didn’t know too much about the world in general, but I kept saying I was going to travel the world and he kept saying… “where to?”.

My grandma had this globe in her living room… and we’d always close our eyes and spin it really fast… and wherever it landed was where we were going to live. Needless to say, I always ended up in an ocean, but I was always interested in the globe – the world – and all those maps that looked oh, so cool.

Jeeze, I didn’t know where I wanted to go… so I started simple.

I said I was going to start with the United States. Then move into Mexico and Canada… and then many other countries to follow. I remember him saying I need to start small, pick one and then just go from there. So I was game and said that I’d focus on the United States.

We pulled out a blank map and we started marking all of the places I had already traveled to. I remember marking off North Dakota, South Dakota, Montana, Minnesota and Nebraska. And once we were done filling out the map, I realized I had a LONG way to go. But I wasn’t worried… I had lots of years ahead of me. One step at a time. And the most exciting part to me was having something to look forward to. A big lofty goal.

I remember the conversation ending when I asked him if he thought I’d really travel the world. And he reassured me that anything is possible.

Well, he was right.

Last night I pulled out my handy dandy map. The one where I marked the states and countries… and I was really surprised. I know I travel a lot, but I haven’t kept track of it in awhile. And this conversation with my dad was something I vaguely remember… until I started updating my map with the places I’ve been to. Yep, my map has filled up in the last 16 years.

I only have 8 states left to go.  And I’ve traveled to four different countries.

I’d say anything is possible. Dreams do become reality… even if you’re a dreamer at age ten.

What’s your dream?

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Thoughts, What's up in my neck of the woods?

Leave a Reply

