There’s something about those North Dakotan’s


Since I’m all about where you came from… and The North Dakotan that I am… I thought I’d tell you a little about my experience with running a business and having a virtual team – and how that ties into where I came from.

Now, running a virtual team is no easy task. Nor is running a business. But there’s a key to success and happiness in both.

First, running a business – virtually.

Well, one perk is… I’m heading to the Bahamas next week – and I’ll be working from there. I travel a lot. I travel for work… I travel for pleasure. But it doesn’t matter where I am. I am still running my business from somewhere. Of course, there are a TON of logistical things I can tell you about, but my point is – I can be anywhere, and my business doesn’t change. I just pack along my office in a laptop bag – and I’m set. So while enjoying the Bahamas next week with my significant other  – I’ll also be running a business, too.

(And just for the record, my SO is not a North Dakotan. He’s from New York. And boy, does that make our life interesting. Total opposites when it comes to our roots! But I’ve learned a lot about big city living and I love him for that. More on this later! Stay tuned.)

Ok, moving along…

Secondly, the people you hire.

Currently, I have six people within my company (me included). But I haven’t always had the same 5 people. I’ve been through a few that weren’t quite matches for me – and my business. But I found out really quickly… the midwestern work ethic knocks my freakin’s socks off.

No joke.

I mean… I know I have it. I am one of the hardest workers you’ll ever meet. And it has a lot to do with where I came from. But THREE of my Solamar gals are from North Dakota. And let me tell you, it was the best decision I have ever made. They are rock stars… and they allow me to run a successful six figure business.

Don’t get me wrong, I have two amazing gals that are from out of state – and they are TRULY amazing. Maybe deep down… they have ancestors from the midwest. 😉

Anyway, I’m a proud North Dakotan that no longer resides in North Dakota – but travels the world, running a business from wherever I land. And I know that a great deal of my success in running a rockin’ business – has a lot to do with my roots.

The midwestern work ethic and surrounding myself with great people. Perfect combination.

Now that’s good stuff right there.

Leave a comment

Filed under Must Have Resources, Personal Thoughts, What's up in my neck of the woods?

Leave a Reply

