Am I Scared? Hell Yes.

I’ve always been one to never admit that I am ever scared. I’m tough. I can handle fear and I have never been too scared of anything.

Until now.

Perhaps I’ve been scared all along – and I’ve avoided the feeling altogether. I don’t know. But when I sit here and think about where I’m at in my life – it freaks me out a little bit. Life has gone by so fast. Where has the time gone?

I’m super excited to be moving to Florida – yet, I’m scared as hell. I’m moving alone, moving to a place where I know a handful of people, and no family. Yes, it’s extremely scary. And yes, it was my choice. Something is telling me to do it while I can. Live a little more than I am, and enjoy getting to know myself even more.

And in the same breath – I’m THRILLED to be moving to Florida. Perhaps I’ll find someone to love, someone who enjoys the water as much as I do, who knows. But I know and feel that it will all be great no matter what happens there. I just know I’ll grow there. It’s the next chapter of my life. And I know it will be a chapter I won’t ever forget.

I honestly believe that if something doesn’t scare you enough – you’re not pushing yourself like you should. By being scared it’s just showing you that you’re living. If you’re not scared, you’re not living – period.

I now know that scared is good. Scared is great. Just know it’s a sign of truly living life.

Change is scary. I could probably control my situation and stay in the “safe zone”. But the safe zone isn’t the life zone – take the action, turn your life around. Be scared. If you’re not scared, you’ve settled – and you’re in the safe zone. If you’re one of these people – you should really consider making a change in your life. Consider living again.

I’m now accepting what is. I can either fight it or accept it. But I can’t change it. I am what I am. Love me or not. This is me. This is who I am.

It all comes down to a choice. You have a choice between happiness and suffering. I choose to feel the excitement about what’s to come – even if it scares me. I’m going to keep moving forward with wonder about all the possibilities that are headed my way. I’ve settled many times in my life. I WILL NOT do it again. And you shouldn’t either.

I am scared, but I am ready for more.

1 Comment

Filed under Personal Thoughts, What's up in my neck of the woods?

One response to “Am I Scared? Hell Yes.

  1. kfred85

    I moved half way across the country about a year ago. To a place where I didn’t know anyone, had no family, and no friends. I was also terrified! I’m glad you are embracing the terror and the opportunity that comes with it 🙂 Best of luck with your big move. I know you’ll have a a great time with your new adventure!

Leave a Reply

