Coulda, Woulda, Shoulda

It’s about that time again.  The time I hop on another plane… to another destination. When I fly – I get somewhat emotional. I’m not sure why, but I think it’s because I tend to people watch and observe everything around me.  I see all kinds of emotions. Some good, some bad, and some bittersweet.

When I fly – I feel a huge amount of loneliness. I don’t know why… there’s hundreds of people around me, yet I feel so alone. I think when I sit here and wait (something I rarely do, only because I’m always going) I tend to over analyze things. I think about where I should be – where I want to be . The decisions I wish I would have made. The paths I could have taken.

Truly, I love to travel. Love it. And someday I’ll travel with my life partner – and I know it will be fantastic. I know that I won’t feel this sense of loneliness forever – and I know that everything takes it’s sweet time.

Until then, I’m going to sit here and be grateful. Grateful for everything around me. I’m going to write this blog post about the choices and decisions you make along the way. You’re given a choice – and it’s what you do with that choice that counts.

Coulda, woulda, shoulda.

We’ve all had these thoughts.  If I could just go back – I would have done it differently – I should have…

Well, you guessed it. You can never go back and change things. But what you can do is recognize that you are in control of your destiny.  Opportunities are presented to you every day – some life changing – and it’s up to you to react and make a choice. Once that choice is made – there’s no turning back and you need to accept that.

You can’t go back. That moment has already passed you by. Maybe it’s timing. Maybe it’s fate. Maybe it’s nothing. But maybe it’s your destiny. Are you making the right choice? Are you confident in the choice you’re about to make?

If you feel 100% about a decision you make, then trust that it’s the right decision. If you’re confused, not certain, or constantly questioning yourself – know that you’re making the wrong decision. It’s okay to admit that.

I look back on my short life and – of course – I would have loved to do things differently. I made mistakes. I made bad choices. I know what it feels like to make the right choice and the wrong choice. It took awhile for me to figure it out, but I’m pretty certain I have a grasp on it now.

So when I see someone making a bad decision – a bad choice – I want to, so badly, tell them to wake up and look around. Life is short… don’t let this moment pass you by. This moment could change your life and rock your world.

But it’s not up to me. It’s up to you.

It’s up to you to make your own decisions – your own choices – and you will learn from them. Perhaps to you it may feel right, but I’m betting there are times where you’re not completely sure either. Thus, you should trust that you are not making the right decision. Maybe your decision will benefit others, but it won’t for you. And you know that.

Life is short. Your destiny is in your hands. It’s up to you – you control your destiny – just don’t let these life changing opportunities pass you by. You don’t want to look back on your life and say… coulda, woulda, shoulda.

Things will happen in your life that you cannot explain. There are no answers – no explanations. But know that these moments just don’t happen to anyone. Notice them. They could be life changing. They are happening for a reason. Take the time to recognize them… or else they will simply pass you by.

You have a choice and once that choice is made – there’s no turning back. Don’t let a life changing moment pass you by.

Coulda, woulda, shoulda… don’t let that be you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Thoughts, What's up in my neck of the woods?

Leave a Reply

