Hell or High Water – I’ll be there

2636_63491700317_691430317_2060960_1687352_nclose-to-my-house

You’ve been living under a rock if you haven’t heard about the unfortunate flooding in North Dakota.  I’m dead center in the action. Actually my place was one of the first to evacuate as I’m very close to the river.  It all kind of happened in slow motion and then before I knew it, I was asked to leave my home.  So I packed up my clothes and headed out the door.

As I was leaving, I noticed a family struggling to get their belongings out the door – so what did I do?  I helped. I dropped all of my things and helped them with theirs. I got them on their way and then I was on my way as well. Then I got a call from a friend of mine (single with three kids) and she needed some help moving her car to dryer grounds – so what did I do? I helped. I dropped everything, got a hold of the keys and relocated her car to a different location. After that, I realized that I better get my butt in gear so I didn’t get stuck in the middle of closed roads. However, that was my next challenge! I waited too long and had issues with closed roads!  BTW, I almost wished for a man in my life right about then… but no need to fear, I was fine!  I made it to higher ground and all is well. Regardless, I’m not worried about myself – I’m more worried about everyone else!

My point: Don’t think twice… drop your things and help!

My intention for this post is to remind you that people have it so much worse than you and me.  There are some people that will most likely lose personal belongings and have damaged homes.   Sometimes we all have to step up and help. In my situation, whatever it takes, I’ll be there. Even if I don’t know you, I’m there. It’s just part of living in North Dakota – every cares. And that’s just who I am.  It’s who we are.

It’s cool to see everyone out there lending a hand… it makes you step back, shed a tear, and realize that this world is full of great people that want to make a difference. Sometimes the media can mask that and only show you the truly disturbing events in this world – but just remember to be thankful for what you have around you and know that there are people out there like you and me that really do want to help, want to give, and want to make a difference.

And always remember:

When it is dark enough, you can see the stars.  ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

I wish I could stay longer and lend a hand, but I’m heading to Los Angeles tomorrow (if the airport stays dry). I’ll be thinking about my family and friends here in North Dakota. I’ll be back soon – and I’ll be sure to put myself to work when I get back – helping others in need.

To utilizing yourself and your energy by giving back,
-Chelsea (A.K.A. The Proud North Dakotan)

Leave a comment

Filed under In The News, Personal Thoughts, What's up in my neck of the woods?

Leave a Reply

