Only If We Could Slow It Down

Today I had a moment to go through all of the wonderful emails I’ve been receiving from my dedicated readers and I realized that so many people out there are not living the way they should.  Many of you said that because of my encouraging words you are now more confident in yourself and you are ready to live the life you’re meant to live.  And let me tell you – that makes me so happy!  But now you need to put it into action. Do it!

I think people want so much out of life – and they end up going a million miles an hour, just trying to get their life to ‘this point’ or ‘that point’.  But I want to tell you – you must slow down.  You must savor the bad and the good, you must enjoy it all.  It makes you the person you are meant to be.

Earlier this week I was spending some great time with my family: my sisters, my nieces and nephew.  I was thinking back to when the kids were really little. Actually, I still remember the day each one was born. And now I look at them and they are just growing like weeds!  Through them, I see how fast life goes by… and I only wish we could slow it down!

Thursday marked my Dad’s birthday and he’s been gone for 14 years now.  After counting how many years he’s been gone – I was a bit taken back by it.  I can’t believe that so many years have gone by – feels like just yesterday.  And it makes me realize again how fast life flies by… and I only wish we could slow it down!

I lost two brothers.  My dad’s birthday made me trigger a thought about how old they would be right now.  One would have been 32 this year, and the other would have been 26.  I only tell you this because you never know what tomorrow will bring; you never know how quickly life can end.  And I hope that everyone reading this would realize that life is so precious and you should be so thankful.

Life is truly amazing and fragile at the same time.  Don’t spend another minute doing something you don’t want to do.  You have one of the most beautiful opportunities – life.

I’m approaching my late 20’s and I’m realizing how many times I thought I couldn’t get through things or that life was just crawling by and I was hoping it would move along so I could get on with my life. But now… I only wish we could slow it down!

As I sit here and write this post, I finally realize that I’m where I’m supposed to be.  I have accepted what I cannot change and have gladly welcomed change that I didn’t expect.  And it’s made all the difference.

Everything around me is good and I’m going to take a deep breath and try to slow it down a bit… savor the little things, enjoy everything.

It’s time for all of us to live the life we are meant to live.  Sit back and think about the world around you.  Are there things that you’ve always wanted to do?  Places you’ve always wanted to travel to?  Do you have someone important in your life and you want to tell them you love them?

GO – do it.

There’s no better time than right now.  There’s no reason to wait. Don’t wait… because before you know it – it could be too late.

Seize The Day!

Enjoy the present – don’t worry about the future.  Live for the moment.  Make the most of today by achieving fulfillment in a philosophical or spiritual sense.

Slow down… enjoy the ride and simply just live.

1 Comment

Filed under Personal Thoughts, What's up in my neck of the woods?

One response to “Only If We Could Slow It Down

  1. nice thoughts, I can sense your emotion and feeling writing this blog. I have just lost my brave brother the cancer at 42 and my Dad at 58, 10 years a go. just to add to what you are saying about seize the day.
    The things you do for others are more important and rewarding than what you do for yourself, no matter how small.
    Love your words Chelsea
    All the best 🙂

Leave a Reply

