Just Let It Happen

For such a long time I’ve been very forceful with things.  I guess you could say I’m strong willed, hard headed, stubborn… you get the idea.  I don’t know why but when I get something in my head, I’m determined to make it happen.

Today I realized something.  I realized that you cannot control your fate.  You need to just let it happen.  And when you do – it will surprise the heck out of you.

I’m not saying that things are just going to happen for you.  Because they’re not.  I work hard, really hard.  But there are some things that are out of my control and I need to just let them happen.

When you let yourself relax – things can happen… organically.  For once today, I did that and it felt so right.  I honestly can say that it’s possible to be thinking something – and having another say it.  It’s like nothing I’ve ever experienced before. It was very surreal.

But it was nice.  Really nice.

And I think it happened because I was open to it. I didn’t fight it.  I just let it happen.  And now I’m certain that things really do happen for a reason.

I think sometimes we control things too much.  Therefore we don’t allow ourselves to take it all in and realize the good around us.  You’ll truly be surprised at what can happen when you let your guard down.

For most of my life – I’ve built walls around me.  I’ve pushed people away because I didn’t want the trouble or the heartache — or that it was too complicated, so I just opted out. It was the easiest.

But today – today I felt like no matter how complicated things can be, you should never pass up an opportunity.  But you won’t see these opportunities until you let yourself see them.  Until you relax and realize that everything happens for a reason and particular things just don’t happen every day. The abnormal things like thinking something and another saying it.  That doesn’t happen every day.  And I honestly think that it happened for a reason.

But you need to see it – you need to feel it – and you need to believe it.  If you don’t, you’re not open to letting things just happen.

I feel as if everything up until now is just a part of the passing through.  Now is the time to just let it happen.  And let me tell you – it’s so good to let things just happen.

I think that’s the way God intended it to be.  Just letting things happen on their own. You’ll know when it happens, you’ll feel it.  Like I did.

One last thing: No matter how complicated your life is – don’t try and control what’s happening right in front of you.  Just let it happen. And I promise you, it will feel right and it will be so good.

No more details tonight.  Maybe another time! 🙂


2 Comments

Filed under Personal Thoughts

2 responses to “Just Let It Happen

  1. aviddiva

    Chelsea, I am older than you and I can tell you from personal experience, it is true. I am stubborn, like you, and sometimes, I resist what is coming my way. It has taken 42 years for me to come to the conclusion that you did.
    I think it has something to do with enjoying the journey as much as the destination. It is like, we focus so much on the future, that we forget to look at what is happening to us right now. And if you let it, it will come organically.
    I believe in God and I asked him to make me see some productivity and some happiness. And today, I was “forced” to go to church (my daughter’s confirmation class had to bring the parents), and as I was sitting there I remembered what I had asked God during Xmas mass. And it is happening. So I am really happy for you. Don’t forget to go for what you want, but also remember to let God (or whatever name you give that force of Nature) guide you in the right direction. Congratulations and keep going.

  2. Pingback: Just Roll With The Punches « The North Dakotan

Leave a Reply

