Making A Decision Can Be Hard To Do

Professionally – I can make a decision fast and it’s normally a good one.  I’m confident in what I do and I’m not afraid to show it.  So when you ask me a question about what I know best, you’re darn right I’m going to tell you how it should be done.  I’m smart, I know my niche and I’m not afraid to make a decision… professionally.

BUT…

Personally – I find it hard to make a decision, especially in my personal life because I’m constantly worried about how that decision will change my life – for the good or the bad.  It’s a fact that I haven’t made the best decisions when it comes to my personal life, but I think it has a lot to do with wanting to have something so much that I’ve tried hard to make it happen, hoping that it will happen for me in a big way… personally.  But as you know, when you have a plan and try to make things happen — it never works (and God laughs!).

See, here’s the thing – all my life ‘career’ wise, I’ve been successful and I’ve been able to perform at 110%.  I know how to work hard, and I do.  I’ve always been good at what I’ve done – and I’m familiar with succeeding – professionally.

BUT…

Total opposite for my personal life.  I’ve made some good and bad decisions, as everyone has, but my judgment is just not there because I tend to give everyone the benefit of the doubt.  I believe in people and wish for the best. AND I’m just too nice.  I realize now – it gets you nowhere!

It’s difficult for me to admit all of this because all my life I’ve been good at what I’ve put my energy into.  So why am I not good at having a great personal life?  Am I not putting enough energy into it?

I do think as I age  – I get smarter personally and professionally (as most people do).  And I now think that perhaps my issue is not that I haven’t tried but that I haven’t figured out what I’ve wanted personally.

Up to this point in my life I’ve made  good and bad decisions, I’ve made mistakes, and I look back on it and I now know that my head is much clearer than it once was and I hope it continues in that direction.

I am more alert to what’s going on around me nowadays.  I really feel the universe pushing me in one particular direction and providing me with these little signs and reminders.  So I’m going to pursue this particular direction because it feels right… and hopefully it will unravel along the way.  Stay tuned!

Cheers to clearer thinking and following your instinct. Here I go!

1 Comment

Filed under Personal Thoughts, What's up in my neck of the woods?

One response to “Making A Decision Can Be Hard To Do

  1. Much of this rings true with me. Being the nice guy, successful at work, but not having the conviction to know what decisions to make in my personal life. Nice to know I’m not alone in that respect. I hope you find your direction in 2009.

Leave a Reply

