To Deal And Find Thyself

This holiday season has given me time to think and to also step back from everything and analyze my situation.  This extra time has brought many things to my attention.  One thing in particular is realizing that I’ve lost myself.  I noticed it particularly when I was spending time with my family… I realized that I let myself go, and lost the urge to care for myself.

It’s crazy how you can lose yourself so quickly and not realize it. I’ve realized the need to spend time on me sometimes, instead of everyone else.  I need to focus on what I want out of life and what I love to do.  I need to not focus so much on doing things for others, and more time on doing things for me.

I think sometimes we put others first.  And that’s great – but sometimes you forget about yourself in the hustle and bustle of it all.  I’ve neglected myself for quite some time.  I’ve been so wrapped up in helping others (and working hard) that I realize now that I need to schedule time for me. It sounds selfish, but sometimes you just need to be good to yourself before giving yourself to others.

Scheduling time for me?  That’s hard to do.  I would rather be working on other things than working on myself, but I know now that I need to not continue down this path, because before you know it – I will have lost myself completely… and I don’t want that.  I’m a fun person – and I have a lot of life in me.  I just need to regain control of that and let it all hang out!

Starting today I’m going to do something I like to do.

To dig a little deeper on this topic, perhaps the reason we lose ourselves is because we’re trying to keep busy and avoid other things in our life.  But maybe what we need to do is confront whatever it is that’s holding us back and deal with it.

To deal and find thyself… now that’s a tall order.  Stay tuned!

1 Comment

Filed under Personal Thoughts

One response to “To Deal And Find Thyself

  1. Amen sister! Making time for self-care is much harder than it should be. I think it’s even more difficult for women. As innate nurturers it requires overriding that basic instinct.

    You made a common comment suggesting that scheduling time for self could be considered “selfish”. In the long run, it’s the exact opposite. Making time for self and self-care is what regenerates the energy necessary to give to others. Ironically, by setting time aside for ourselves, we end up doing better at helping others.

    If you have to schedule it on your calendar, do so. If you have to have a policy of only thinking about yourself on Sundays, do so. If you have to declare that you’ll do nothing for anyone but yourself for the first 2 hours after getting up in the morning, do so. Whatever you decide, do that – decide, and then do so.

Leave a Reply

