I am Woman (Part 1)

Bear with me as I take the first steps in outlining who I am. Keep in mind that this will take many days and nights, but I’m bound to know who I am and I’m going to write it all out.

First and foremost, I am a hard working woman. And I put this first only to show you that this is indeed one of my characteristics that I’ve worked so hard to become. But I know – deep down, that I’m one of the most hard working individuals you’ll ever meet – period.

I am a proud democrat. Truth is, this year has been the first year in my life that I can honestly, whole heartedly say that I am a democrat. For such a long time I didn’t know what I was – didn’t understand it all and was swayed quite heavenly by family and friends. But after educating myself on everything re: politics, I know that I am a PROUD democrat – and can’t wait for the day when Obama takes office. He ROCKS!

I am scared of death. I had never thought of myself as being scared of anything. Actually, nothing. I’m just not the type of person that’s afraid. But as I come to grips with death and understanding it – I know that I’m afraid of it. However, I am trying to understand and accept it… but I know that I can honestly say that I’m deathly afraid of death.

I am secluded. For some reason I have thrown up walls all the way around me. I still haven’t figured out why – but I have finally been able to be honest with myself and know that I have blocked a lot of people out of my life and I think it has a lot to do with hurting. Hurting from the past and not wanting to deal with any pain. Therefore I put up these walls so I ‘hopefully’ will not have to deal (or face) pain. I’m working on it though.

I am determined. My Mother always used to say that once I get something in my head – I’m going to do it hell or high water. Well, my Mother is right – once I get it in my head, I’ll do whatever it takes to make it happen. If I want something bad enough – I’ll work my ass off to get it! Another thing I learned from this ‘lesson’ — My Mother is always right!

I am love. I try and love everyone. Sometimes it causes heartache (trust me, I know) – but I try and share as much love as I can… especially with my family. I want them all to know that they are number one and I love each of them so much. So every day, when I wake up, they are the first thing on my mind – and every night, when I get ready for bed, they are the last thing on my mind.

I am in love with animals! Animals make my heart melt. They are definitely a woman’s best friend. Even though I don’t have any animals right now, I enjoy visiting the neighbors pets! Whenever I go to a pet place, or a pound, etc., I want to take them all with me. Trust me, If I could – I would!

I am a self-help book junkie. I love finding ways to enlighten the spirit and love to read self-help books. I find them powerful and enduring. I love thinking positive and love the sense of being calm and relaxed. My ideal setting would be reading a self help book while listening to the rain and smelling the outdoor air.

I am a collector of books. I love collecting books, but I do have to let out a secret. Most of the time, I don’t read them all. I buy them because they look pretty and I LOVE the smell of a fresh book – the feel of it is fantastic too. I know — it’s odd, but it’s totally fun! You should try it.

I am water! I love water, through and through. If I could, I’d probably be a mermaid. I love to swim. It not only makes me feel good, but it makes me feel healthy and strong. I literately could swim for hours – and normally wrinkle like a prune!

. . . TO BE CONTINUED!

Click here to read I am Woman (Part 2).

8 Comments

Filed under Personal Thoughts, What's up in my neck of the woods?

8 responses to “I am Woman (Part 1)

  1. Violet Weed

    I swim an hour a day which for me at 60 means 1.5 miles (but then I’m from Hawai’i). I do am somewhat secluded, but then I always have been, since I graduated from high school at 13, got legally emancipated and went to work as a programmer for IBM. This is where we part ways.
    You are a kid, so of course you are a liberal. If you are still a democrat in ten years, well, hmm, you won’t be so why tell you what I think of that. I don’t love everyone, that’s nuts. That’s like thinking there is no such thing as ‘absolute truth’ and in point of fact there IS. I didn’t vote for that opportunist lying sack of bull manure, because I DID work offshore on high-risk projects, for more than two decades, and I DO know that if the world ‘likes/loves’ our President, we are going to be in real danger. You have no idea what Bush did for this country, but I do! There were (are) WDMs in Iraq (and Iran now), you wouldn’t know that, but I’m hooked into the network of people who DO know…. us risktakers. So you are in North Dakota, well, you’re pretty safe from what is going to happen in 2009… dirty bombs galore! I will be in Alaska by inauguration day, so I’ll be relatively safe, too. I don’t hear God in your ‘voicings’ so I will pray for you, but if He didn’t call you, oh well.

  2. lpink75

    Great post, Chelsea!!! I admire you for putting yourself out there.

  3. Jessica Smith

    I can so relate to your post! I don’t know how old you are but something about being a couple years into my 30’s makes me get to know myself as a friend and accept myself for all that I am and all that I’m not.

    We share a lot of the same feelings, fears, and ideas. I can’t wait to read part 2!

  4. Great post. I’ve been doing a lot of soul searching myself lately.

  5. Bravo to you for:
    1) Taking the time to figure out who you are and what makes you – you. Very few people in this world actually do that.
    2) Sharing your discoveries with us.

    I’ve subscribed to your fabulous blog and look forward to reading more posts!

  6. GREAT post! Your words are spoken from the heart and shows that you are an authentic person. I LOVE your transparency! It’s people like you that make this world a better place.

    I’m refreshed by reading your blog – I’m subscribing and look forward to reading more about you!

  7. prasanna

    I relate a lot to your love for collecting books. I do that too. Last year, my resolution was to buy a book per month as I wanted to build my library. Guess what? I ended up buying 3-4 books per month! Needless to say, I haven’t read more than 80% of those books.

    I just love the way books look. With their interesting covers and jackets which provide a peek into an extraordinary story. My palms itch when Im holding a book in my hands in the bookstore and I know I have to buy it.

    Also, with the smell of new books, I also love the smell of library books – especially the really old ones – hardcovers, classics with yellowed pages – ah bliss! 🙂

Leave a Reply

