Learning Who You Really Are

For many years, I thought I had ‘me’ figured out. I thought I knew what I wanted out of life – I was content and confident.  But this past year has been totally different for me.  It seems to me that I didn’t know myself at all.  I didn’t know who I was (or who I became).  I was and still am a bit confused as to who I really am.  I feel like I’m finally coming into my own and I’m growing into someone that I’m getting to know.

The downside to figuring out who I am now is that the decisions I’ve made in the past aren’t the decisions I necessary want now.  How do you get out from under your past if you’re surrounded by the past decisions in everything you do?  I know the direction I want to go ‘now’ but it doesn’t really mesh with where I’m at in my life right now.  Frustrating.

I’ve come to realize that Learning Who You Really Are is somewhat of a confusing statement.  Because you’re held back by the decisions that you’ve made in your past and you’re buried in the life that you created for the person you didn’t really know.  Sounds confusing — and it really is.  Maybe that’s the beauty in life – maybe you’re really not supposed to know yourself.  Maybe you’re supposed to learn to live with your surroundings and work with the cards you’re dealt.

1 Comment

Filed under Personal Thoughts, What's up in my neck of the woods?

One response to “Learning Who You Really Are

  1. backyardblessings

    I view it as my “backyard” . We all have our “fronts”, I’m not talking fakeness,but a strong front, an ability to stand and be among others, despite your past decisions or questions of who you are. You are clearly able to articulate what you are feeling today from this post and just being able to do that , to know that you’re in this awkward,confusing stage of life, is a strength. I’m speaking from my own personal realization. What I concluded is that those past decisions are who made me and make you the person I am reading about today. I applaud you …Backyard Blessings

Leave a Reply

